The Chrome Dome is Round!

‘A woman is like a tea bag – you can’t tell how strong she is until you put her in hot water.’ ~ Eleanor Roosevelt

G.I. Jane has nothing on me!!!

G.I. Jane has nothing on me!!!

These words seemed to have fit my life since 2011…Okay maybe since I left High School!  I was always looking for a good way to test myself and I am sure my parents early on in life too with “hot water” – Sorry guys! 😉 Turns out even though that water burned me – I survived, grew and became a stronger person; from the lessons I forced to teach myself through bad decisions and a few misconceptions.

It’s almost as if everyday of life is just one test after the other full of others teachings, persuasions and recommendations. In the end you take those, filter them through your own mind, break them down into your own theories and come out with your own end result that may or may not have traces of influences from those around you.  Either way in the end it’s up to you! Your choice, your decision on how you take the wrenches that are thrown at you daily or what you learn from the mistakes you made 15 years ago; even how you process them today.

What does all the above have to do with the “now”, the “today”?  Everything.  I never knew the test I had coming to me.  I flitted through my teens and early to mid twenties thinking that I was untouchable and in a sense I was.  There was no humble pie on my menu. It just tasted bad back then.  It’s funny how taste buds change as we are faced with things we never thought we would never have to deal with.  The things you only heard about from a friend of a friend.

2011 I became that friend of a friend when I was diagnosed with Stage IIIB Melanoma with no primary and then again this late October when I was diagnosed with Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia (ALL) and of course it wouldn’t be done in proper “Cassie” fashion unless there was a rare chromosome mutation to accompany my disease. I tell you, when I do things…I do them right! 🙂

Right now, I am well. Start my B regimen of Chemo tomorrow. I continue on a monthly basis with two week breaks in between until June! Yowza!

  1. Good news is I get to do most of it from home.
  2. Good news is that I am also on a trial drug to treat my mutated chromosome (Philadelphia Chromosome) in hopes that it keeps me in remission. Good news
  3. Good news is that if I relapse I immediately go for a Bone Marrow Transplant and if my siblings aren’t a match (fingers crossed they are) I already have 50 donors on the registry that are a perfect match – Talk about a lucky lady; some people rarely find a donor.

I close with lyrics from: Phillips Phillips, “Home”

Hold on, to me as we go
As we roll down this unfamiliar road
And although this wave is stringing us along
Just know you’re not alone
Cause I’m going to make this place your home

Settle down, it’ll all be clear
Don’t pay no mind to the demons
They fill you with fear
The trouble it might drag you down
If you get lost, you can always be found

Just know you’re not alone
Cause I’m going to make this place your home

Settle down, it’ll all be clear
Don’t pay no mind to the demons
They fill you with fear
The trouble it might drag you down
If you get lost, you can always be found

XOXOXO

Cassie

 

About cassieclicks

My name is Cassie Beisel. I am an aspiring photographer out to capture my life's journey through portraits, architecture, landscape and travel. I love: Food Climbing Cycling Travel All around adventure
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Chrome Dome is Round!

  1. Mom says:

    Is this what it took for you to realize what a truly amazing woman you are! I couldn’t be prouder of you as a human being, my daughter. Not many people could handle this adversity as well as you! xoxo

  2. Sarah says:

    while i could tell you how amazing you are and how much we love you — i won’t because i already have one on one….. INSTEAD i would like to say – this article is grand…. CONTINUE the writings! ❤

Leave a Reply

