Interrupted by….Leukemia?!?!

I don’t know how to say this any other way to anyone, other than…I was diagnosed with Leukemia this morning…

The short of the short is I am sitting writing this from my new home for the month – the hospital.  It’s not bad…some exposed brick framing the windows, recessed lighting and a staff with my kind of humor. Nurse Holly won me over instantly when she left the room and came back with a…six pack…of gingerale. I got excited too re-reading that as I could use a drink with a little extra stiffness.

More to come but in the meantime here are some of the key components to what’s happening:

1.  I have Leukemia (type ALL)

2. I start chemo tomorrow

3. I’m here for a month

4. I have an awesome support system of family and friends!!! 🙂

5. I’m in good spirits and still making many bad jokes. The difference is that people are actually laughing at them now…out of pity I am sure but hey, I’ll take it.

6. My dear friends Jenny, Natasha and Darren have created a calendar page that I will share the link to shortly if anyone is interested to come and visit or just keep abreast of what’s going on.  🙂

7. This is not related to the Melanoma that I was just dubbed Cancer free for 2 years.

8. I’ll be honest…I’m gonna say it….Ready?…This is some crazy shit right?!?! Two cancers in two years that are completely unrelated….WHOA!!!

9. Call me, ask questions or e-mail me.  Don’t be shy.  I welcome it!

10. Everyone knows I love them so we don’t need to get into all of that emotional mushy stuff.

www.lls.org

I guess Leukemia is orange. Really not my best color…hard to match! 🙂

About cassieclicks

My name is Cassie Beisel. I am an aspiring photographer out to capture my life's journey through portraits, architecture, landscape and travel. I love: Food Climbing Cycling Travel All around adventure
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Interrupted by….Leukemia?!?!

  1. Sarah says:

    I was hoping you would write! I hope it keeps coming…..

    You are the best.

  2. Erin says:

    I love the honesty and bluntness. I love the calendar idea. Look forward to more, CDogg

  3. Ashley says:

    Good vibes, prayers, thoughts and love all go to you. If you need anything at all, just ask. I know we’re not close but you have a friend in me!! Kick some cancer ass my friend and carry on! You’re an amazing woman.

  4. DAD says:

    Cassie, you are the BRAVEST person I know.keep that OH YEAH! I’LL SHOW YOU attitude and we will beat this one too.
    Love Dad

  5. linda geaslin says:

    . Sounds like you’ve had a lot of crap thrown your way, and yet you are taking it all in stride with grace and poise, I gotta admire that. Good luck with the chemo and keep blogging Cassie.
    – a fan

  6. Elizabeth Friedl says:

    Cassie, I have never had the pleasure of meeting you…grew up ‘on the block’ on Regina Drive and hung around with your Aunt Jennifer and Aunt Caryn. Always admired your mom’s beauty and kindness. Your strength and courage amazed me through your battle with melanoma. Now I read your post and I am blown away by your amazing sense of humor and honesty. Obviously, you have a wonderful family. I have no doubt you will win this one! My prayers will continue for you and your family. You are, indeed, a very special lady.

  7. Stacie Wakefield says:

    Thinking about you Cassie, hang in there!

  8. Mom says:

    Your strength and tenacity amaze me everyday! We will be with you every step of the way!

  9. Megan says:

    Cassie, you are one of the strongest women I know!! Keep up the fight – I know you’ll beat this too. Thoughts and lots of prayers coming your way!

  10. Johanna Mangiapane Pfisterer says:

    Hi Cassie,after reading your blog you sound like a very strong and determined girl,I’m sooo sorry to hear you have been yet again struck…I know with you strength and will power you will FIGHT AND WIN this horrible curse..Keep that positive attitude n you will be a SURVIVOR,show em whos BOSS!!!!!My mom is a breast cancer survivor!!!!Gotta fight all the way,u can do it:) Praying everyday for you <3<3.
    BTW, I graduated with your mom, she's one very sweet n special friend<3..Prayers for your families strength too!!!<3<3.LOVE TO U ALL

  11. Christa says:

    Hey Cassie I am just seeing this and I want you to know that you are in my prayers and I KNOW that you will kick this as you have the other Cancer. You are strong and just plain amazing!!! I will keep in touch and stay in the loop on your fb page. Love you girl!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

